Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium Program Committee

Committee Description

SCA will be a global leader in comprehensive professional development that promotes the provision of safe, high quality, cost-effective medical care for patients undergoing cardiovascular and thoracic procedures.

The Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium (TAS) Program Planning Committee maintains the quality of the scientific content of the Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium and ensures consistency, continuity and balance in the programming.

The committee designs the overall program for the TAS. Specific duties include:

1. To determine the basic schedule for the main conference events, working within the constraints of the facility and SCA’s budget.
2. To identify and select the moderators and speakers for the general sessions, workshops and PBLDs.
3. To review and select the abstracts.
4. To participate, as needed by staff, in conference events on-site, review conference evaluations and offer suggestions for future conferences accordingly.

The committee reports to the CME Committee.

The committee meets at least once per year.

The committee is composed of the Course Director, the Parent Committee (CME) Chair, and up to twelve other committee members. A Board Liaison may be appointed at the discretion of the President.

Committee members serve for a term of two years for any number of terms, but not more than three terms consecutively.

Committee Members

Full Name Institution Committee Title Term
Wanda M. Popescu, MD Yale University Member April, 2022
Timothy Hayes, MBChB University Hospital of South Manchester Member April, 2021
Rebecca Y. Klinger, MD MS Duke University Medical Center Workshop and PBLD Coordinator April, 2021
Randal S. Blank, MD PhD University of Virginia Vice Chair and Abstract Coordinator April, 2022
Massimiliano Meineri, MD Herzzentrum Leipzig Member April, 2021
Ju-Mei Ng, MD Brigham and Women’s Member April, 2022
Jagtar Singh Heir, DO MD Anderson Cancer Center Member April, 2021
Emily Teeter, MD FASE UNC Health Care System Member April, 2021
Diana Anca, MD St. Lukes – Mount Sinai Member April, 2021
E. Andrew Ochroch, MD University of Pennslyvania School of Medicine Member April, 2021
Alessia Pedoto, MD Memorial-Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Chair/SPC Liaison April, 2022
Andrew D. Shaw, MB FCCM FFICM FRCA University of Alberta Parent Committee Chair (CME) April, 2021
Hilary Grocott University of Manitoba Board Liaison April, 2022