Scientific Program Committee

Committee Description

SCA will be a global leader in comprehensive professional development that promotes the provision of safe, high quality, cost-effective medical care for patients undergoing cardiovascular and thoracic procedures.

The Scientific Program Committee (SPC) maintains the quality of the scientific content of the Annual Meeting & Workshops and ensures consistency, continuity and balance in the programming.

The committee designs the overall program for the Annual Meeting. Specific duties include:

1. To determine the basic schedule for the main conference events, working within the constraints of the facility and SCA’s budget.
2. To identify and select the moderators and speakers for the sessions, Workshops and Problem-Based Learning Discussions.
3. To review and select the abstracts.
4. To participate, as needed by staff, in conference events on-site, review conference evaluations and offer suggestions for future conferences accordingly.

The committee reports to the CME Committee.

The committee meets at least once per year at the SCA Annual Meeting.

The committee is composed of the Chair, Vice Chair, Workshop/ PBLD Coordinator, Parent Committee Chair and up to eighteen other committee members. In addition, there is one Directors for the Fellow and Resident Program. There are also liaison representatives from EACTA, the SCA Research Committee, SOCCA, STS and the TAS Program Committee. A Board Liaison may be appointed at the discretion of the President.

Committee members serve for a term of two years, but not more than three terms consecutively.

Committee Members

Member Name Committee Title Term Ends
Sasha K. Shillcutt, MD FASE Chair April 2022
Mary Beth Brady, MD FASE Vice-Chair April 2022
Jonathan Ho, MD Workshop and PBLD Coordinator April 2022
Karsten Bartels, MD Member April 2022
Tara R. Brakke, MD FASE Coordinator, Fellow and Resident Program April 2022
Megan Chacon, MD PoCUS Liaison April 2022
William (Skip) Culp, FASE MD STS Liaison/Member April 2022
Adam Dalia, MD MBA FASE Member April 2022
Michael Essandoh, MD Member April 2021
Rhagavendra Govinda, MBBS, MD Member April 2021
Jennifer Hargrave, DO Member April 2022
Nadia Hensley, MD Quality Liaison April 2021
Jiapeng Huang, MD PhD Member April 2021
Stephanie Ibekwe, MD Member April 2022
Jenny Kwak, MD Member April 2021
Sharon McCartney, MD Echo Week Liaison April 2021
Emily Methangkool, MD Member April 2021
Candice R. Montzingo, MD FASE Member April 2022
Jochen (Danny) Muehlschlegel, MD MSc FAHA Research Liaison April 2021
Jacques (Prince) Neelankavil, MD Director, Fellow and Resident Program April 2022
Gianluca Paternoster, MD, PhD EACTA Liaison April 2022
Alessia Pedoto, MD TAS Liaison April 2022
Mihai V. Podgoreanu, MD FASE Member April 2021
Shahzad Shaefi, MD SOCCA Liaison April 2021
Michele Sumler, MD Member April 2022
Kelly Ural, MD Member April 2022
Adriaan Van Rensburg, MD MBChB MMED FCASA FRCPC Member April 2022
Andrew D. Shaw, MB FCCM FFICM FRCA Parent Committee Chair (CME) April 2021