Clinical Practice Improvement Project Sub-Committee

Committee Description

SCA will be a recognized resource for healthcare providers engaged in the care of patients undergoing cardiovascular and thoracic procedures.

Clinical Practice Improvement Sub-Committee uses an evidence-based approach, combined with the best research on best practices.  The sub-committee is committed to providing cardiovascular anesthesiologists with easy to use resources for implementing clinical practice guidelines.

The sub-committee develops clinical practice guidelines through various entities and in collaboration with other organizations and also considers for endorsement guidelines developed by external organizations.

The sub-committee facilitates communication between guideline developers and users and promote appropriate interpretation and application of guidelines by cardiovascular anesthesiologists.

There are three Working Groups that also support the work of CPI – Neurocognitive/cerebral Protection, Atrial Fibrillation, and Blood Conservation.

The sub-committee reports to the Quality & Safety Leadership Committee. 

The sub-committee meets at least once per year.

The sub-committee is composed of the Chair, Parent Committee (QSL) Chair, and up to fourteen other members. A Board Liaison may be appointed at the discretion of the President.

Sub-committee members serve for a term of two years for any number of terms, but not more than three terms consecutively.

Committee Members

Full Name Institution Committee Title Term Ends
Nanette M. Schwann, MD Lehigh Valley Hospital & Health Network Chair April, 2021
Jacob Raphael, MD University of Virginia Liaison – Blood Conservation April, 2021
Hong Liu, MD University of California Davis Health Liaison – AKI April, 2020
Wanda M. Popescu, MD Yale University Liaison – ERATS April, 2022
Bruce A. Bollen, MD Missoula Anesthesiology/International Heart Institute of Montana Parent Committee Chair April, 2021
Sasha K. Shillcutt, MD FASE University of Nebraska Medical Center Board Liaison April, 2021
Yvonne Lai, MD Massachusetts General Hospital Member April, 2021
Victor Neira, MD MAED Dalhousie University Member April, 2021
Sanjay Dwarakanath, MD FASE University of Kentucky Member April, 2021
Ray H. Engstrom, MD Member April, 2021
Patrick M. Cooney, DDS MD University of Missouri School of Medicine Member April, 2021
Michael Duggan, MD FASE Emory University School of Medicine Member April, 2021
Meghann M Fitzgerald, MD NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Member April, 2021
Linda Shore-Lesserson, MD FAHA FASE Northwell Health Member April, 2021
Jochen (Danny) Muehlschlegel, MD MSc FAHA Brigham and Women’s Hospital Member April, 2021
G. Burkhard Mackensen, MD PhD FASE University of Washington Member April, 2022
Aaron Mancuso, MD Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Member April, 2021