Quality & Safety Leadership Committee

Committee Description

SCA will be a recognized resource for healthcare providers engaged in the care of patients undergoing cardiovascular and thoracic procedures.

To identify and create synergy between the Society and other professional and affiliate societies by exchanging liaisons to engage in thought-leadership discussions.

Quality and safety is a focus of the SCA and its members. The committee combines the knowledge and experience of its various sub-committees, task forces and working groups to enhance the overall resources for expanding quality and safety in the field.

Specific duties include:

  • To develop a coordinated approach to initiatives and projects positioning the SCA as a recognized international leader in quality, safety, and patient care.
  • To develop new quality, safety, and patient care initiatives that would be in the interest of the SCA and its membership.
  • To manage current projects or committees, including:
    • SCA/STS Database Task Force
      Guidelines and Standards Sub-Committee
    • Clinical Practice Improvement Project Sub-Committee
    • Atrial Fibrillation Working Group
    • Blood Conservation Working Group
    • Neurocognitive Outcomes (Neurological/Cerebral Protection) Working Group
    • Kaplan Leadership Development Award Review Sub-Committee

The committee reports to the SCA Board of Directors.

The committee meets at least once per year.

The committee is composed of the Chair, Chairs of each QSL Sub-Committee, an STS Representative, and up to eleven other committee members. A Board Liaison may be appointed at the discretion of the President.

Committee members serve for a term of two years.

Committee Members

Full Name Institution
Tjorvi E. Perry, MD University of Minnesota
Timothy Heinke, MD Medical University of South Carolina
Teresa Anita Mulaikal, MD Columbia University
Stefan A. Ianchulev, MD Tufts Medical Center
Srdjan Jelacic, MD University of Washington
Michael Boisen, MD University of Pittsburgh
R. Lebron Cooper, MD University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Rebecca M. Bauer, MD, MPH University of Massachusetts
Philip E. Greilich, MD UT Southwestern
Nanette M. Schwann, MD Lehigh Valley Hospital & Health Network
Nadia Hensley, MD Johns Hopkins University
Miklos D. Kertai, MD PhD Vanderbilt
Michael A. Mazzeffi, MD MPH University of Maryland
Michael Grant, MD Johns Hopkins
Laurent G. Glance, MD University of Rochester School of Medicine
Kenneth R. Catchpole, MD Medical University of South Carolina
Kathy Glas, MD FASE MBA Emory University School of Medicine
Heather Hayanga, MD MPH West Virginia University
Gaetano (Guy) Paone, MD
Elizabeth Herrera, MD Houston Methodist Hospital
Bruce A. Bollen, MD Missoula Anesthesiology/International Heart Institute of Montana
Bradlee J. Bachar
Benu Makkad, MD University of Cincinnati Medical Center
Atilio Barbeito, MD Duke University Medical Center
Amanda J. Rhee, MD Mount Sinai Medical Center