General Information:

Website: http://www.childrenshospital.org/clinicalservices/Site878/mainpageS878P0.ht

Chair: Paul R. Hickey, M.D
Email: paul.hickey@childrens.harvard.edu
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Kirsten C. Odegard, M.D.
Email: kirsten.odegard@childrens.harvard.edu
Mailing Address:
Division of Cardiac Anesthesia Department of Anesthesia Children's Hospital Boston 300 Longwood Avenue
Boston
Massachusetts
USA
(617) 355-6225
(617) 278-9237


Application Process:

Contact Amy Hollien for application: amy.hollien@childrens.harvard.edu


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 0
Position(s) available 2012: 2
Position(s) available 2013: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Avaible:

  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical Basic Research
  • Clinical Clinical
  • Clinical Research


Annual Salary: appox $67,000
Minimum Length of Training: 6 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 8


Faculty:

Alfonso Casta, M.D.
alfonso.casta@childrens.harvard.edu
Pediatric Cardiologist
Annette Schure, M.D.
annette.schure@childrens.harvard.edu
Avinash C. Shukla, M.D.
avinash.shukla@childrens.harvard.edu
Barry D. Kussman, MBBS
barry.kussman@childrens.harvard.edu
Cerebral protection/physiology
Dima Daaboul, M.D.
dima.daaboul@childrens.harvard.edu
Francis X. McGowan, M.D.
francis.mcgowan@childrens.harvard.edu
Division Chief Cardiac Anesthesia, Director Anesthesia/Critical Care Research Laboratory
James A. DiNardo, M.D.
james.dinardo@childrens.harvard.edu
Echocardiography, coagulation
James S. Harrington, M.D.
james.harrington@childrens.harvard.edu
Juan C. Ibla, M.D.
juan.ibla@childrens.harvard.edu
Effects of hypoxia on cellular and endothelial function
Kirsten C. Odegard, M.D.
kirsten.odegard@childrens.harvard.edu
Coagulation
Koichi Yuki, M.D.
koichi.yuki@childrens.harvard.edu
Mark Wesley, M.D.
mark.wesley@childrens.harvard.edu
Paul R. Hickey, M.D.
paul.hickey@childrens.harvard.edu
Department Chair
Peter C. Laussen, MBBS
peter.laussen@childrens.harvard.edu
Cardiac ICU Director, Cerebral protection/physiology
Ruchik Sharma, M.D.
ruchik.sharma@childrens.harvard.edu


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 5 per week
Type: Clinical, Research, Fellow presentation
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 1 meeting/year; additional time for presented material
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 20
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 10
Book Chapters: 3
Other Publications:

Comments:

Funding: Departmental/Institutional Funds
Dedicated Research Time: Yes
Echocardiography Instruction: Available
Critical Care Rotation: Optional
Formal Course Work Available in: Negotiable
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 6 months out of 12 total months


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 800
Distribution of cases: 100% congenital heart disease
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 150
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 300
Distribution of case: PDA, shunt creation, unifocalization, coarctation repair,pacemaker, ICD, va
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 30
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 10
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 30
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: