General Information:

Websitehttp://www.ottawaheart.ca/UOHI/

Department Chair: Homer Yang, MD
Email: hyang@ottawahospital.on.ca

Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Sean Dickie, MD
Emailsdickie@ottawaheart.ca

Mailing Address:
Cardiac Division of Anesthesiology 
40 Ruskin Street, Room H2410
Ottawa, ON K1Y 4W7, Canada

Phone: 613.761.4379
Fax: 613.761.4925


Application Process:

Eligibility criteria: completion of anesthesia residency in Canada, USA or European Union country. Trainees from other countries must have at least one year of training or practice in North America. Required documents: cover letter, CV and 3 reference letters to be sent to sdickie@ottawaheart.ca.


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:

  • Clinical Clinical

Annual Salary: $72,000
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 13


Faculty:

Benjamin Sohmer
bsohmer@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography; Medical Education

Bernard McDonald
bmcdonald@ottawaheart.ca
Critical Care Medicine; Clinical Research

Charles Cattran
ccattran@ottawaheart.ca
Critical Care Medicine; Medical Education

Chris Hudson
chudson@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography, Clinical Research

Donna Nicholson
dnicholson@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography; Residents Coordinator

James Robblee
jrobblee@ottawaheart.ca
Director of Cardiac Anesthesiology; Blood Utilization

Jean-Yves Dupuis
jydupuis@ottawaheart.ca
Critical Care Medicine; Clinical Epidemiology and Research

Mark Hynes
mhynes@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography; Medical Education

Michael Bourke
mbourke@ottawaheart.ca
Director of Critical Care Unit; Anesthesia Equipment

Peter Wilkes
pwilkes@ottawaheart.ca
Critical Care Medicine; Renal and Acid-Base Physiology

Sean Dickie
sdickie@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography, Coagulation

Stephane Lambert
slambert@ottawaheart.ca
Transesophageal Echocardiography; Medical Education


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 2 to 3 per week
Type: Clinical, Journal Club, Research and Echo Rounds
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 1 meeting per year or more for Fellows presenting abstracts
 

In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

Abstract: 2
Book Chapters: 3

Funding: Department Funds
Dedicated Research Time: Up to 2 days per week
Echocardiography Instruction: 8 weeks full time TEE training
Critical Care Rotation: 8 weeks
Formal Course Work Available in: by arrangement with University
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 16 weeks


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 1350
Distribution of cases: 65% CABG, 30% valves, 5% thoracic aneurysm, 10% other (= congenital, pulmon
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 175
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 700
Distribution of case: 20% OPCAB, 50% AICD, 20% AF ablation, 10% other (= percutaneaous ASD closur
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 50
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 10
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 15