General Information:

Department Chair: Maya Suresh, MD
Email: msuresh@bcm.edu

Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Stuart R. Hall, MD
Emailsrhall@texaschildrens.org

Mailing Address:
Texas Children's Hospital Pediatric Cardiovascular Anesthesia 
6621 Fannin, WT 17-417B
Houston, TX 77030

Phone: 832.826.5831
Fax: 832.825.1903


Application Process:

Submit a current curriculum vitae and three names of reference.


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:

  • Clinical Clinical

Annual Salary: 45,407
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 3


Faculty:

David F. Vener, MD
dfvener@texaschildrens.org

Dean Andropoulos, MD
dra@bcm.tmc.edu
Neurologic monitoring, cardiovascular effects of anesthetics

Douglas J. Miller, MD
djmiller@texaschildrens.org
Pediatric Cardiovascular Anesthesia

Emad B. Mossad, MD
ebmossad@texaschildrens.org
Coagulation Management; Adults with Congenital Heart Disease

Erin A. Gottlieb, MD
eagottli@texaschildrens.org

Javier E. Joglar, MD
jejoglar@texaschildrens.org

Pablo Motta, MD
pxmotta@texaschildrens.org
Pediatric Cardiovascular Anesthesia

Stuart R. Hall, MD
srhall@texaschildrens.org
Pediatric cardiovascular Anesthesiology

Wanda Miller-Hance, MD
wmh@bcm.tmc.edu
Echocardiography


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: two per week
Type: didactic
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: one week per year
 

In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

Abstract: 3
Book Chapters: 2

Dedicated Research Time: Up to 20% of total time
Echocardiography Instruction: two months, plus intraoperative
Critical Care Rotation: one month
Formal Course Work Available in: 4 week course in fundamentals of investigation - mandatory
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 20%


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 500
Distribution of cases: 500 CPB, 200 cardiac (nonpump), 700 cardiac cath, 200 cardiac MRI, 200 nonc
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 150
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 200
Distribution of case: All congenital
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 40
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 20
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 20