General Information:

Website: https://www.mskcc.org/hcp-education-training/fellowships/thoracic-anesthesia-fellowship​

Chair: Gregory W. Fischer, MD
Email: fischerg@mskcc.org​

Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: David Amar, MD
Emailamard@mskcc.org

Mailing Address:
1275 York Ave.,Rm M-304
New York, NY 10065

Phone: 212.639.6798
Fax: 212.772.8646

Program Coordinator: Julie Salter
Phone: 212.639.6673
Email: salterj@mskcc.org


Application Process:

Applicants must have completed an accredited anesthesiology residency and be Board eligible.  Interested candidates should submit a current CV, a personal statement and the names of three references.


General Program Information:

2500 cases total (1500 major, see details) in 2017-2018 and actively growing:

  • Lobectomy (483), segmentectomy (101),
  • Bi-lobectomy (46), pneumonectomy (14)
  • Pleurectomy (46), chest wall resection (35)
  • Mediastinal tumor (37), thymectomy (52)
  • Esophagectomy (107), tracheal and carinal resection (4)

Additional information:

  • Minimally invasive or robotic assisted surgery performed in majority of cases
  • Supervisory role of residents
  • Elective time learning transthoracic or transesophageal echocardiography
  • Experience with acute pain service (thoracic epidurals and regional chest wall techniques)
  • Instruction in lung ultrasound, pulmonary function testing and nuclear medicine
  • Mentored clinical research and presentation at national meetings
  • Participation in an Institution sponsored course on biostatistics and clinical trial design
  • Monthly journal club, M&M, and lectures with thoracic surgery
  • Enhanced recovery program

Faculty:

David Amar, MD
amard@mskcc.org

Dawn Desiderio, MD
desider@mskcc.org

Gregory W Fischer, MD
fischerg@mskcc.org

Jacob Jackson, MD
jacksoj1@mskcc.org

Alessia Pedoto, MD
pedotoa@mskcc.org

Alexandra Lewis, MD
lewisa1@mskcc.org
 


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 4 per week
Type: Grand Rounds, Journal Club, Combined Surgery, Anesthesia and Pulmonary Fellow Conference, Tumor Board, Echocardiography and Interventional Pulmonology
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: ASA or SCA meetings plus presentations of papers
 

In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

Abstract: 3