General Information:

Website: http://depts.washington.edu/anesth/training/fellows/ct.shtml

Chair: C Michael Crowder, MD, PhD
Email: cmc53@uw.edu
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Jorg Dziersk, MD, FRCA
Email: jorgd@uw.edu
Mailing Address:
University of Washington Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine; Mail Stop 356540
1959 NE Pacific Street
Seattle, WA 98195

Phone: 206.598.1994
Fax: 206.543.0881


Application Process:

Applicants should submit the following documents:

  • Curriculum vitae
  • USMLE, COMLEX, or MCCQE transcript
  • Official medical or osteopathic school transcript
  • ECFMG certificate (if applicable)
  • Information about visa status (if applicable)

General Program Information:

Position(s) available 2018-2019: 3

Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:

  • Clinical

Annual Salary: $62,628
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 13

Types of Fellowship Training Available: Clinical


Faculty:

Denise C Joffe MD
denise.joffe@seattlechildrens.org

Donald C Oxorn MD FRCPC
oxorn@u.washington.edu

G Burkhard Mackensen MD PhD
gbmac@uw.edu

Jorg Dziersk MD FRCA
jorgd@uw.edu

Kei Togashi MD
ktogashi@uw.edu

Krishna M Natrajan MB BS FRCA
natrajan@u.washington.edu

Michael Hall MD
leehall@uw.edu

Peter von Homeyer MD
peter2@uw.edu

Renata G Ferreira MD
rf50@uw.edu

Srdjan Jelacic MD
sjelacic@uw.edu

Stefan A Lombaard MB ChB FANZCA
slombaard@comcast.net

T Andrew Bowdle MD PhD
bowdle@u.washington.edu


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 3-4 days per week
Type: Weekly: Didactic seminars, Clinical case conferences, TEE review; Bimonthly: Journal club
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: Available

Funding: 100% hospital funded.
Echocardiography Instruction: Dedicated Echocardiography Lab rotation - one month. Integrated perioperative TEE training - eight months.
Critical Care Rotation: One month of cardiothoracic surgical ICU, optional additional month


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: > 650
Distribution of cases: CABG 15%, Congenital 8%, Heart transplantation 7%, Thoracic aorta 16%, Valve (including combined CABG + valve but excluding TAVI) 30%, Ventricular assist + total artificial heart 14%
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 130+
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: >350 (including transcatheter therapies involving Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology)
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 770
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 100