General Information:

Website: http://www.utswanesthesia.com

Chair: Charles W. Whitten, MD
Email: charles.whitten@utsouthwestern.edu
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Ravi V. Joshi, MD
Email: Ravi.Joshi@utsouthwestern.edu
Division Director: Amanda Fox, MD MPH, Chief of Cardiac Anesthesiology and Vice-Chair for Research
Email: Amanda.Fox@UTSouthwestern.edu

Mailing Address:
5323 Harry Hines Blvd, MC 9068
Dallas
Texas
USA
(214) 648-7837
(214) 648-4751


Application Process:

Please email anesfellowship@UTsouthwestern.edu or call (214) 648-4751 for Elgin Meredith, fellowship coordinator, for an application. Status as of 07/01/2014: positions for the academic year 2015-2016 are filled.


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2
Position(s) available 2016: 2
Position(s) available 2017: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:

  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical plus Research


Annual Salary: $66,234
Minimum Length of Training: 12 Months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 13


Faculty:

Steven Hill, MD
Steve.Hill@utsouthwestern.edu
Chief of cardiothoracic anesthesiology and critical care
Marco Aguirre, MD, FASE
marco.aguirre@utsouthwestern.edu
Perioperative transesophageal echocardiography
Sreekanth Cheruku, MD
sreekanth.cheruku@utsouthwestern.edu
Adult cardiothoracic anesthesia and Critical Care
Suzanne Dellaria, MD
suzanne.dellaria@utsouthwestern.edu
Perioperative transesophageal echocardiography
Linda Douning, MD
linda.douning@utsouthwestern.edu
Vascular anesthesia, perioperative transesophageal echocardiography
Amanda Fox, MD
Amanda.Fox@utsouthwestern.edu
Clinical and translational research, perioperative transesophageal echocardiography
Philip Greilich, MD, FASE
philip.greilich@utsouthwestern.edu
Perioperative transesophageal echocardiography, blood conservation, safety & outcomes research
Norman Huang, DO
Norman.Huang@utsouthwestern.edu
Perioperative transesophageal echocardiography, interventional cardiology procedures
Ravi V. Joshi, MD
Ravi.Joshi@utsouthwestern.edu
Fellowship director, transesophageal & transthoracic echocardiography, extracorporeal support
Isaac Lynch, MD
isaac.lynch@utsouthwestern.edu
Adult cardiothoracic anesthesia and Critical Care
Lisa Morse, MD
lisa.morse@utsouthwestern.edu
Adult congential cardiac anesthesia
Chen Shi, MD
chen.shi@utsouthwestern.edu
Difficult airway management/perioperative transesophageal echocardiography
Alycia Wanat-Hawthorne, MD
Alycia.Wanat-Hawthorne@utsouthwestern.edu
Perioperative transesophageal echocardiography


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: Weekly
Type: TEE Interesting Case Conferences, Journal Club, joint Morbidity & Mortality with Cardiothoracic Surgery Dept, selected topics in cardiothoracic anesthesia
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: $1750 per year. Additional support available for presentations.
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 6
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 5
Book Chapters: 1
Other Publications: 6

 

Comments:

 

Funding: Parkland Memorial Hospital
Dedicated Research Time: up to 2.5 months as needed
Echocardiography Instruction: TEE machines in all cardiac rooms (>90% of cases).
Critical Care Rotation: Cardiothoracic Surgery ICU with additional month available if requested.
Formal Course Work Available in: Clinical Scholarly Research Program available; several tracks offered by UT
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: Negotiable


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 550
Distribution of cases: 50% CABG, 35% Valves, 5% Thoracic Aorta, 10% Other
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 175
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 80
Distribution of case: 30% CABG, 20% thoracic aorta , 20% EP, 30% Other
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 40
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 550
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 105
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 150