General Information:

http://anesthesiology.med.miami.edu

Chair: David Lubarsky, MD, MBA
Email: DLubarsky@med.miami.edu
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Jadelis Giquel, MD
Email: jgiquel@med.miami.edu
Mailing Address:
Department of Anesthesiology University of Miami School of Medicine P.O. Box 016370
Miami
Florida
USA
(305) 585-6970
(305) 545-6753


Application Process:

Contact Dr. Sciarra or his administrative assistant, (listed on the UM website: http://www.jhsmiami.org/body.cfm?id=9434 ) either by phone or email for application instructions and program information.


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2
Position(s) available 2012: 0
Position(s) available 2013: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Avaible:

  • Clinical Basic Research
  • Clinical Clinical


Annual Salary: $52,400
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 11


Faculty:

Ahron Avramovich, MD
AAvramovich@med.miami.edu

David A. Lubarsky, M.D.
dlubarsky@med.miami.edu

Edward Gologorsky, MD
EGologorsky@med.miami.edu

Edward Maratea, MD
EMaratea@med.miami.edu
CVT and TEE, interest in mentoring programs

Jadelis Giquel
JGiquel@med.miami.edu

Jay Grossman, M.D.
jgrossman@med.miami.edu
Adult Cardiac Anesthesia, TEE, Operating room management

John Sciarra, M.D, Program Director
sciarra@med.miami.edu
Adult and Pediatric Cardiac Anesthesia, TEE

Lebron Cooper, MD
lcooper@med.miami.edu
Adult Cardiac Anesthesia

Michael Barron, MD
MBarron@miami.edu
Divisional Chief

Micheal Isley, MD
MIsley@med.miami.edu

Ricardo Martinez-Ruiz, MD
RMartinez@med.miami.edu
Adult Cardiac Anesthesia, Critical Care

Yiliam Rodriguez
YRodriguez4@med.miami.edu


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 2 times per week
Type: AM didactic lecture by Faculty, Dept grand rounds
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 2 meetings per year, ALL Fellows encouraged to attend SCA /TEE Course each
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 5+
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 3+
Book Chapters: 2+
Other Publications:

 

Comments:

 

Funding: Dept/Institutional Funds, Pharmaceutical/Equipment industry grants
Dedicated Research Time: Individualized per Fellow. Research opportunities available and encouraged
Echocardiography Instruction: Formal videotape conferences and lectures weekly, 1 month Echocardiography
Critical Care Rotation: 1 months (required). CSICU managed by Anesthesiology Department
Formal Course Work Available in: Will consider all requests with University of Miami
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 4 months


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 1000
Distribution of cases: 60%CABG, 30% valves, 5% Thoracic Aneurysm, 5% Transplant, 5% Ventricular A
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 150
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 150
Distribution of case: 25%off pump CABG/valve, 35% thoracotomy, 25% Pacemaker/AICD 25% vascular
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 100
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 200
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 24
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 100