General Information:

http://anesthesia.ucsd.edu

Chair: Gerard Manecke, M.D.
Email: gmanecke@ucsd.edu
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Dalia Banks, M.D.
Email: dabanks@ucsd.edu
Mailing Address:
Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Department of Anesthesiology 9300 Campus Point Drive #7651
La Jolla
California
USA
(858) 657-7416
(858) 657-5014


Application Process:

Request application materials from the Department Website. Submit them to the address above Attn: Dalia Banks,M.D. You can download the application forum from website as well as register through http://www.sfmatch.com/


General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2
Position(s) available 2012: 2
Position(s) available 2013: 2
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Avaible:

  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical Basic Research
  • Clinical Clinical


Annual Salary: $57,635 (2011-2012 Salary)
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 10


Faculty:

Byron Fergerson
bfergerson@gmail.com
Echocardiography
Dalia Banks, M.D.
dabanks@ucsd.edu
TEE, PTE
David Roth, M.D.
droth@ucsd.edu
Basic CV Physiology Resarch
Dr Liem Nguyen, MD
liem@ucsd.edu
TEE, PTE
Dr. Joel Kaplan,M.D.
jkaplan@ucsd.edu
Editor in Chief of Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia
Dr. Mark Mitchell, M.D.
mmitchell@ucsd.edu
TEE
Dr. Ramon Sanchez,M.D.
ramalesan31@aol.com
TEE, PTE, Liver transplant
Dr. Tim Maus, MD
tmaus@ucsd.edu
non-invasive cardiac monitors, TEE, 3D
Dr.Gerard Manecke, M.D.
gmanecke@ucsd.edu
TEE, PTE, Non Invasive Monitoring


Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: 2 per week,
Type: Clinical , TEE, Fellow Presentation, Monthy Journal Club
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 1-2 meeting per year
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 3
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 7
Book Chapters:
Other Publications:

 

Comments:

Funding: Departmental
Dedicated Research Time: 2 month if eligible
Echocardiography Instruction: TEE weekly, Dedicated 2 month TEE
Critical Care Rotation: 1
Formal Course Work Available in:
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 4


Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 800
Distribution of cases: 35% CABG,25% valves, 40% Pulmonary Thromboendarterectomy
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: >150
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: >50
Distribution of case:
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: >30
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 150
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 40
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: