Roger A. Moore
President, 2001-2003

President's Message

Travelling Full Circle

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you don't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. dream. Discover." — Mark Twain

As my two years of Presidency are drawing to a close, I would like to express what a great honor it has been to be involved with such a superb organization. When I first joined the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists in 1979, I was immediately struck by the quality of the organization both in mission and membership. It has been a rare pleasure to participate in the growth of the SCA as an active member and in leadership roles, culminating with these past two years as President. As with all Presidents, I came on board with many plans; many were accomplished but some did not come to full fruition. We succeeded in negotiating a far more prominent role in our journal, Anesthesia & Analgesia. We founded the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists Education and Research Fund. We solidified our relationships with other medical societies, including the American Heart Association, the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the American Society of Echocardiography, and the American College of Cardiology. We continued to provide three outstanding meetings on a yearly basis. We published two informative monographs and continued the timely publication of our bi-monthly Newsletter. We expanded our electronic communications, grew our membership, increased our support for research, and we did much, much more. Although we did not succeed in securing ACGME accreditation of cardiac anesthesia fellowship programs, we made a valiant effort and will continue to "fight for our cause". I use the word "we" throughout because none of the credit can go to any single person. The one thing that truly stands out in my mind, as I reminisce over the past two years, is the incredible energy, dedication, and time spent by so many volunteers in order to make our Society work and go forward.

With some trepidation, I now try to give thanks to the legions of people who have made our Society function so well. My fear stems from a lack of space in order to list everyone making significant contributions over the past two years, and I apologize for the many I miss. First, I must thank the SCA Executive Committee which is made up of the immediate past President (Daniel Thys, MD), the President-Elect (Glenn Gravlee, MD), and the Secretary-Treasurer (James Ramsey, MD). The Executive Committee participated with me in nearly daily discussions by e-mail and multiple telephone conferences. Every member of the Executive Committee provided input and guidance which was invaluable in dealing with many difficult issues that came up rapidly and unexpectedly. Every member of the Executive Committee should be thanked by our entire Society for their dedication and hard work.

The entire Board of Directors should also be commended for their time and dedicated work. Sol Aronson MD, Program Committee Chair, aided by Linda Shore-Lesserson MD, Program Committee Vice Chair, have ensured that our Annual Meeting continues to be the shining jewel in the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologist's crown. That is not to lessen the importance of Sol Aronson MD and Bob Savage MD in making our yearly echocardiographic meeting so excellent that it is now attracting attendees from all medical specialties. Chris Mora Mangano MD and Rick Hensley MD, in association with Bruce Spiess MD, have continued to run a wonderful cardiopulmonary bypass meeting on a yearly basis. Other members of the Board of Directors that have provided in-depth input during our various deliberations include Steve Konstadt MD (financial direction on a number of matters and co-chaired the Task Force on Public Education); Nancy Nussmeier MD (chaired the Task Force on Expanding Revenue); Rick Hall MD (our Canadian representative, often acting as the voice of reason); Jack Shanewise MD (whose TEE expertise provided credibility with many cardiologic societies); Bel Russell MD (active in developing important TEE guidelines); Jonathan Mark MD (actively involved in TEE guideline development); Mark Newman MD (previous Chair of our Publications Committee); and last but not least, the two founding members of the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists who remain active with the Board of Directors, George Burgess, III MD and Bob Marino MD. The guidance of George and Bob ensured that the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists remained on track with a dedication to the improvement of education and knowledge of all anesthesiologists. Their efforts will be honored at our annual meeting this year with the presentation to both of the SCA's Distinguished Service Award. Other members of the SCA that have provided incredible amount of input include Uday Jain MD (chaired our Membership Committee); Steve Young MD (spearheaded numerous bylaws changes); Joe Savino MD (chaired our Governmental Affairs Committee); Rich Wolman MD (chaired the Ethics Committee); Martin Allard MD (chaired the Allied Health Committee); Lee Fleisher MD (chaired the Research Committee); David Reich MD (chaired our Electronic Communications Committee); Al Cheung MD (chaired our Newsletter Committee); David Cook MD (chaired our Publications Committee) and Alan Jay Schwartz MD (steadfastly continues to lead the charge toward ACGME approval of Cardiac Anesthesia Fellowships). Each of these individuals has provided the elbow grease that has insured the wheels of our Society continue to move smoothly and efficiently ahead. A hearty thank you goes to our Chief Staff Executive, Heather Spiess, her colleagues Stewart Hinckley, Kevin Johns, Shannon Lesniak, and the supposedly retired, though always present John Hinckley, who make up Ruggles Service Corporation. They have helped make my tenure as president productive and enjoyable. By making sure all the loose ends were tidied up and all the deadlines were completed successfully, they made me look good. A big "thank you" needs to go out to Ruggles from all of us! Of course I have missed mentioning literally hundreds of my colleagues that continue to contribute actively, energetically, and conscientiously behind the scenes, working on the various committees and serving as the educators at our meetings. Each deserves applause. In addition I must thank my anesthesia group "back home" - Greg Conrad MD, Vincent Guarini MD, Archelle Jose MD, and Constantine Dateshidze MD - for filling in for me during the many periods I was away on SCA business. Last but certainly not least, I have to thank my wife, Jonni Moore PhD, for her support during all my meetings and her wise insights into many issues.

Having given thanks to many of the people whom have contributed so heavily in the past of their time and effort to the SCA, I now turn to the future of our Society and the important role that you, the membership must play. In doing so, I come full circle. My very first president's message contained the statement,

"Therefore, my challenge to you is to become involved. Step up to the plate and become part of our continuing push to make SCA the most vibrant and exciting anesthesia society in the world".

My message continues to be just as relevant today. Get involved! Become active in a really great Society! Thank you all for making the past two years an incredible experience.

Roger A. Moore, MD

Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00