Fellowship Header

Washington University School of Medicine

 



General Information:

Chair: Alex S. Evers,M.D.

Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Director: Daniel Emmert, MD, PhD
Mailing Address:
Washington University School of Medicine Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology 660 S. Euclid Avenue, Campus Box 8054
St. Louis
Missouri
USA
(314) 362-1196
(314) 747-3977
Application Process:
Please submit common application, personal statement and 3 letters of recommendation via San Francisco Match (Program ID 4790).  Applicants are encouraged to utilize the adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology fellowship standard recommendation letter available on the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists website. 
General Program Information:
Number of positions: 4
Position(s) available:
2015-16: 3
2016-17: 3
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:
  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical Basic Research
  • Clinical Clinical
Annual Salary: per Washington University guidelines
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 15
Faculty:

Michael Avidan, M.D.

AVIDANM@WUSTL.EDU

Outcome studies, sleep apnea and sleep disordered breathing, HIT, cognitive dysfunction

Heidi Coco (Atwell), D.O.

HAtwell@WUSTL.EDU

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, critical care, adult perioperative TEE

Charl de Wet, M.D.

DEWETC@WUSTL.EDU

Anesthesia for adults with congenital diseases, fast track cardiac surgery, echocardiography for mitral valve repair, critical care, adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology

George Despotis, M.D.

DESPOTISG@WUSTL.EDU

HIT, heparin resistance, alternatives to heparin and perioperative hemostasis

Julianne Donnelly, M.D.

donnellj@wustl.edu

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, critical care, adult perioperative TEE

Daniel Emmert, M.D., Ph.D.

emmertd@wustl.edu

3D Echocardiography, advanced perioperative echocardiographic techniques, critical care, intraoperative EEG

Thomas Graetz, M.D.

TGraetz@WUSTL.EDU

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesia, critical care, intraoperative EEG, echocardiography

Charles Hantler, M.D.

HANTLERC@WUSTL.EDU

HIT, heparin resistance, alternatives to heparin and perioperative hemostasis, cognitive dysfunction and explicit recall in high risk surgical patient

Mohammad Helwani, M.D., M.S.P.H.

helwanim@wustl.edu
Outcome studies and pulmonary hyprtension

Rocco Huneke, M.D.

huneker@WUSTL.EDU

The effects of volatile anesthetic agents on murine myocardial potassium channels

Anand Lakshminarasimhachar, M.D.

lakshmia@WUSTL.EDU

Cognitive dysfunction and explicit recall in high risk surgical patients

Ben Palanca, M.D., Ph.D.

palancab@WUSTL.EDU

Changes in neural connectivity and cognitive function under sedation and anesthesia

Rashmi Rathor, M.D.

rathorr@wustl.edu

Adult perioperative TEE, cardiac anesthesiology, abdominal organ transplant

Clare Ridley, M.D.

ridleyc@wustl.edu

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesia, critical care, intraoperative EEG, echocardiography

Adnan Sadiq, M.D.

sadiqa@WUSTL.EDU

Critical care, CT anesthesia, trauma anesthesia, transesophageal echocardiography

Tracey Stevens, M.D.

wagnert@wustl.edu

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, adult perioperative TEE

Troy Wildes, M.D.

wildest@wustl.edu

Preoperative assessment, Surgery in elderly patients, Delirium, Intra-operative EEG, 3D Echocardiography, Diastolic dysfunction, Patient-reported outcomes

Paul Zanaboni, M.D., Ph.D.

zanabonp@wustl.edu

Adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, pulmonary physiology, lung transplantation

 

 

Academic Program:
Fellow Conferences Frequency: 4/week
Type: Clinical Monday Morning Conference, QI, M&M, Case presentation, TEE lecture series
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 1 week, $2,500 additional stipend
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 3
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 2
Book Chapters: 6
Other Publications:

 

Comments:

 

Funding:
Dedicated Research Time: 1 day/week, optional 1-2 elective months
Echocardiography Instruction: 1 month echocardiography rotation, daily hands-on experience, Advanced Peri
Critical Care Rotation: 1 month CT ICU rotation, optional 1-2 elective months
Formal Course Work Available in: Research design, grant application, biostatistics
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 2 months of electives

 

Clinical Program:
Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 916
Distribution of cases: 20% CABG, 30% Valves, 10% Aneurysms, 5% Congenital, 10% VAD, 5% ECMO
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 305
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 162
Distribution of case: 60% CABG, 5% AICD, 10% Aneurysms, 10% TAVR
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 45
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 275
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 105
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 19
Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00