Fellowship Header

University of Maryland School of Medicine

 

General Information:

General Information:  http://medschool.umaryland.edu/anesthesiology/div_cardiac.asp

Chair: Pete Rock M.D., M.B.A.

Email: prock@anes.umm.edu

Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Wendy K. Bernstein, M.D., M.B.A.

Email: wbernstein@anes.umm.edu

Mailing Address:

Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Room S11-C10 22 S Greene Street

Baltimore

Maryland 21201

USA

410-328-6120

410-328-5531

http://www.scahq.org/images/content/tables/thead.jpg

Application Process:

Applicants who have successfully completed their anesthesia residency in an ACGME accredited program with an interest in Cardiac Anesthesia are encouraged to apply.  Applicants should request an application form online (http://medschool.umaryland.edu/anesthesiology/fellowship_cardio.asp) and provide a current curriculum vitae, personal statement, medical school transcript, USMLE scores, In-Training exam scores and 3 letters of recommendation.  We start accepting applications in September 2016 for the academic years 2018-2019 and stop accepting applications on March 31, 2017.   All applicants must register with the San Francisco Match at www.sfmatch.org.  Selected applicants will be invited for a formal interview.  Interviews are held from December 2016 until April 19, 2017.

General Program Information:

Number of positions: 2

Position(s) available 2018:  2

Position(s) available 2017:  0

Type(s) of Fellowship Training available:

  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical Basic Research

 

Annual Salary: $62,275

Minimum Length of Training: 12 months

Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 10

http://www.scahq.org/images/content/tables/thead.jpg

Faculty:

 

 

Kenichi Tanaka M.D. MSC

Division Chief

ktanaka@anes.umm.edu

Coagulation management, Outcomes

 

Wendy K. Bernstein, M.D. M.B.A

Fellowship Director

wbernstein@anes.umm.edu

Simulation, Education, Team training

 

 

Seema Deshpande, M.B.B.S.

sdeshpande@anes.umm.edu

Education, Intraoperative echocardiography

 

James Fitzpatrick M.D. J.D.

jfitzpatrick@anes.umm.edu

Thoracic anesthesia

 

Molly Fitzpatrick, M.D.

mfitzpatrick@anes.umm.edu

Education, Thoracic anesthesia

 

Ileana Gheorghiu, M.D.

igheorghiu@anes.umm.edu

Liver transplantation

 

Ashan Grewal, M.D.

agrewal@anes.umm.edu

Director of intraoperative echocardiography

 

Michael Mazzefi, M.D.

mmazzefi@anes.umm.edu

Critical care, Outcomes

 

Patrick Odonkor, M.B.Ch.B.

podonkor@anes.umm.edu

Education, Transcatheter valve interventions

 

Anne Savarese, M.D.

asavarese@anes.umm.edu

Pediatric cardiac surgery

 

Erik Strauss M.D.

estrauss@anes.umm.edu

Education, Intraoperative echocardiography

 

Brittney Williams, M.D.
bwilliams@anes.umm.edu

Coagulation management, Research

http://www.scahq.org/images/content/tables/thead.jpg

Academic Program:

Fellow Conferences Frequency: Minimum 5 per week

Type: Cardiac Anesthesia lecture series, Cardiac Anesthesia journal club, Cardiac Anesthesia M & M, Multidisciplinary Cardiac surgical, ICU and Cardiac anesthesiology M & M, Department Anesthesia M &M,

Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: SCA TEE Meeting and 1 additional meeting

In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

Abstract: 13

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 6

Book Chapters: 3

Other Publications: 5

Comments:

Funding: Departmental/Institutional funds, Pharmaceutical/Equipment, Industry grants, Peer review grants

Dedicated Research Time: Variable; can be substituted for 1 month clinical time

Echocardiography Instruction: 2 month rotation with both cardiology in echo lab and intraoperative

Critical Care Rotation: Required 1 month in dedicated CSICU

Formal Course Work Available in: Cardiac and Thoracic OR

Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: Rotations in invasive cardiology, transfusion medicine,  Cath lab, EP lab, perfusion/extracorporeal

http://www.scahq.org/images/content/tables/thead.jpg

Clinical Program:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 1562

Distribution of cases: Approximately 50% CABG, 35% Valve, 5%congenital and 10% thoracic aneurysm

Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 226

Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 325

Distribution of case:

Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 80

Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 523

Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 68

Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 133




Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00