Fellowship Header

Texas Heart Institute

 

General Information:
Chair: James M. Anton, M.D.
Email: janton@stlukeshealth.org
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: James Anton, M.D.
Email: janton@stlukeshealth.org
Mailing Address:
Texas Heart Institute at Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center
Division of Cardiovascular Anesthesiology
P.O. Box 20345, MC 1-226
Houston, Texas 77225-0345
USA
Telephone: 832-355-7860
Fax: 832-355-6500
:
APPLICATION PROCESS:

Mail to the attention of Education Coordinator, Michelle Farley [mfarley@StlukesHealth.org]: http://www.texasheartinstitute.org 1. Completed application (include wallet-size photo), updated CV, and personal statement (500 word maximum) 2. Three letters of recommendation (written and mailed to the attention of James M. Anton, M.D.) 3. MSPE & Med School grades 4. Test scores (USMLE) 5. In training exam scores
General Program Information:
Number of positions: 10
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:
  • Clinical
Annual Salary: per Texas training guidelines
Minimum Length of Training: 12 Months
CARDIOVASCULAR ANESTHESIA FACULTY:

Byron Tsusaki, D.O.
btsusaki@stlukeshealth.org
C. David Collard, M.D.
ccollard@stlukeshealth.org
Professor of Anesthesiology, Baylor College of Medicine

Charles R. Kiser, M.D.
ckiser@stlukeshealth.org
Daniel Tolpin, M.D.
dtolpin@stlukeshealth.org
Asst. Director, Baylor College of Medicine, Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship
Heinrich Epple, M.D.
hepple@stlukeshealth.org
James M. Anton, M.D.
janton@stlukeshealth.org
Interim Chief, Division of Cardiovascular Anesthesiology
Clinical Associate Prof. of Anesthesiology
Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center,
Director, Baylor College of Medicine, Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship
John R. Cooper, Jr., M.D.
jcooper@stlukeshealth.org
Clinical Professor of Anesthesiology,  Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center
Director, Baylor College of Medicine, Critical Care Medicine Fellowship
Joseph Creo, M.D.
jcreo@stlukeshealth.org
Joshua B. Cohen, M.D.
jcohen@stlukeshealth.org

Kishan Dwarakanath, M.D.
kdwarakanath@stlukeshealth.org
Li Qian Chen, M.D.
lchen@stlukeshealth.org
Manu Sethi, M.D.
msethi@stlukeshealth.org
Paul W. Brock, Jr., M.D.
pbrock@stlukeshealth.org
Samuel J. Hankins, M.D.
shankins@stlukeshealth.org
Wei Pan, M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, Baylor College of Medicine
wpan@stlukeshealth.org
Zachariah Thomas, M.D.
zthomas@stlukeshealth.org

ANESTHESIA CRITICAL CARE MEDICINE FACULTY:

Laura Hannah Bell, M.D.
lbell@stlukeshealth.org

Cesar Castillo, M.D.
ccastillo4@stlukeshealth.org
Clinical Asst. Professor, Baylor College of Medicine

Victor Moulin, M.D.
vmoulin@stlukeshealth.org

Sonia Nhieu, M.D.
snhieu@stlukeshealth.org
Asst. Director, Baylor College of Medicine,  Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

Kunal Panda, M.D.
kpanda@stlukeshealth.org

Siavosh Saatee, M.D.
ssaatee@stlukeshealth.org
ACADEMIC PROGRAM:
Fellow Conferences Frequency: Weekly
Type: Didactic Lectures, Case Conferences and workshops
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: 1 meeting per year
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

Abstract: 
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 
Book Chapters: 
Other Publications:


COMMENTS:

Funding: Intramural
Dedicated Research Time: Per ACGME guidelines
Echocardiography Instruction: 2 months intraoperative TEE, didactic lectures
Critical Care Rotation: Integrated
Formal Course Work Available in: None
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: Per ACGME guidelines


:
CLINICAL PROGRAM:

Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year:
2100
Distribution of cases: 35% ACB, 15% Pedi, 24% Valves, 13% Aneurysm, 13% Thoracic
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 150
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 400
Distribution of case: 70% off pump ACB, 20% TMLR, 10% Misc.
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 75
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 300
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year: 50
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 100
Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00