Fellowship Header

New York University Langone Medical Center

 

http://anes.med.nyu.edu/residency-fellowship/cardiothoracic-anesthesia-service

 

General Information:
Chair: Andrew Rosenberg, MD
Email: andrew.rosenberg@nyumc.org
Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship Director: Jennie Ngai, MD
Email: jennie.ngai@nyumc.org
Mailing Address:
Department of Anesthesiology
NYU Langone Medical Center
550 First Avenue, TH 530
New York
New York
USA
212-263-5072
212-263-3894
Application Process:
The fellowship common application can be found on the sf match website: https://sfmatch.org. Or, please contact Ms. Sonia Taylor, program coordinator, for information. Tel:212.263.3894. E-mail: sonia.taylor@nyumc.org.
General Program Information:
Number of positions: 3
Position(s) available 2015: 0
Position(s) available 2016: 3
Type(s) of Fellowship Training Available:
  • Clinical Only
  • Clinical Basic Research
  • Clinical Clinical Research
Annual Salary: $70,000+
Minimum Length of Training: 12 months
Number of CA-4/CA-5 Fellows Completing 12-24 Months Cardiothoracic/Cardiovascular Training in Previous 5 Years: 14
Faculty:
Jennie Ngai
jennie.ngai@nyumc.org
Adult and Congenital Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia, TEE
Michael Schlame 
michael.schlame@nyumc.org
Adult and Congenital Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia
Marc Kanchuger
marc.kanchuger@nyumc.org
Adult Cardiac, Thoracic, Liver Transplant Anesthesia
June Rim
june.rim@nyumc.org
Adult Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia
Lawrence Rabinowitz
lawrence.rabinowitz@nyumc.org
Cardiac Anesthesia
Anna Jankowska
anna.jankowska@nyumc.org
Adult and Congenital Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia
Peter Neuburger
peter.neuburger@nyumc.org
Adult Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia, TEE
Robert Nampiaparampil
robert.nampiaparampil@nyumc.org
Adult Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia, TEE
Brent Luria
brent.luria@nyumc.org
Adult Cardiac, Thoracic Anesthesia, TEE
Academic Program:
Fellow Conferences Frequency: weekly
Type: didactic
Extra-Institutional Educational Conference Support: One annual conference and support for any meeting at which the fellow presents
In the Previous 5 Years, Fellows were 1st or 2nd Author On:

 

Abstract: 12
Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles: 4
Book Chapters: 3
Other Publications:

 

Comments:

 

Funding:
Dedicated Research Time: Optional
Echocardiography Instruction: Intraop daily, one month elective, and scheduled didactic sessions
Critical Care Rotation: One month CICU rotation
Formal Course Work Available in:
Maximum Time in Non-OR Activities: 20-30%

 

Clinical Program:
Number of Cardiac Procedures with CPB Per Year: 1500
Distribution of cases: 40% CABG, 50% Valves, 15% Congenital
Average Number of CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 300
Number of Cardiac Procedures off-CPB Per Year: 300
Distribution of case: Robotic Cardiac, Percutaneous Valve, Mechanical Assist Device, Minimally Invasive Cardiac, Conventional CABG & Valve, Robotic Thoracic, Congenital Cardiac, Aortic Dissection
Average Number of off-CPB Procedures Per Trainee Per Year: 80
Number of Non-Cardiac Thoracic Cases Per Year: 900
Number of Heart, Lung and Heart/Lung Transplants Per Year:
Number of Major Vascular Cases Per Year: 20
Contains 0 items
Subtotal: $0.00